This material is protected by U.S. copyright law. Unauthorized reproduction is prohibited. To purchase quantity reprints, please e-mail reprints@ons.org or to request permission to reproduce multiple copies, please e-mail pubpermissions@ons.org. **PEOPLE & EVENTS** 

# Diane M. Otte, RN, MS, OCN® Associate Editor

# Nine Oncology Nursing Society Members Named American Academy of Nursing Fellows

The American Academy of Nursing (AAN) inducted 55 nurse leaders, including 9 Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) members, as fellows during AAN's 33rd Annual Meeting and Conference on November 11 in Miami, FL.

The following ONS members have been named 2006 Academy fellows.

- Kathleen A. Calzone, RN, MSN, APNG, Derwood, MD
- Cynthia Chernecky, RN, PhD, AOCN<sup>®</sup>, Alpharetta, GA
- Barbara B. Cochrane, PhD, RN, Seattle, WA
- Patricia J. Hollen, PhD, RN, Charlottesville, VA
- Linda U. Krebs, RN, PhD, AOCN<sup>®</sup>, Lakewood, CO
- Donna O. McCarthy Beckett, PhD, RN, Madison, WI
- Patricia W. Nishimoto, RN, BSN, MPH, DNS, Honolulu, HI
- Ann M. O'Mara, RN, PhD, AOCN<sup>®</sup>, Bethesda, MD
- Lisa Schulmeister, RN, MN, CS, OCN<sup>®</sup>, River Ridge, LA

"The Academy is comprised of many of the nation's top nursing executives, policy makers, scholars, researchers, and practitioners," said AAN President Linda Burnes Bolton, DrPH, RN, FAAN. "Induction into the Academy represents an esteemed honor and recognition of outstanding achievement."

Each nominee must be sponsored by two current AAN fellows. Selection is based, in part, on the extent to which nominees' nursing careers influence health policies for the benefit of all Americans, because the mission of AAN is to serve the public and nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge.

AAN is comprised of more than 1,500 nursing leaders in education, management, practice, and research. Leadership positions held by fellows include university presidents, chancellors, and deans; state and federal political appointees; hospital chief executives and vice presidents for nursing; researchers and entrepreneurs; and practicing nurses.

AAN was established in 1973 under the auspices of the American Nurses Association to provide visionary leadership to the nursing profession and to the public in shaping future healthcare policy and practice. For more information, visit www.aannet.org.

# Moore Honored With American Association of Community Cancer Centers' Progress Award

ONS Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Pearl Moore, RN, MN, FAAN, has been honored with the Association of Community Cancer Centers' (ACCC) Progress Award for her many contributions to the oncology nursing profession. ACCC's Progress Award honors outstanding innovators in the delivery of high-quality multidisciplinary cancer care. Moore received the award on September 15 at ACCC's Oncology Economic Conference in St. Louis, MO.

In addition to serving as ONS CEO, Moore is an adjunct assistant professor in the School of Nursing at the University of Pittsburgh in Pennsylvania. She is a prominent leader in the national and international cancer care communities. As a pioneer practitioner in the specialty, she served as one of the first oncology clinical nurse specialists in the nation at Montefiore Hospital in Pittsburgh. Later, she blended clinical practice with research as the first coordinator of the Brain Tumor Study Group, which was part of a groundbreaking national consortium conducting clinical trials. At the same time, Moore was a volunteer and pivotal leader in the historic development of ONS. In 1975, she joined 250 nursing peers as an ONS founding member and became an active volunteer serving on committees and holding office.

Moore will retire from ONS on January 31, 2007, after more than 25 years of service.



Oncology Nursing Society Chief Executive Officer Pearl Moore (left) was honored with the Association of Community Cancer Centers' (ACCC) Progress Award for her many years of commitment, service, and contributions to the oncology nursing profession. ACCC Treasurer Brenda K. Gordon and ACCC Executive Director Christian G. Downs presented the award.

#### Matthews Receives Dean's Teaching Award



ONS Directorat-Large Ellyn E. Matthews, PhD, RN, CS, AOCN<sup>®</sup>, CRNI, received one of two Dean's Awards for Excellence in Teaching in the School of Nursing at the University of Colorado

at Denver and Health Sciences Center, where she is an assistant professor. Matthews received the award at the School's spring convocation, which was held May 26 at the Health Sciences Center campus.

Matthews, who said that she was "delighted by the honor and genuinely surprised and grateful," was selected for the Dean's Teaching Award for her teaching excellence in the school's baccalaureate program. Graduate students nominated the faculty for the award, with Dean Patricia Moritz, PhD, FAAN, and associate deans Amy Barton, PhD, Lauren Clark, PhD, FAAN, and Marlaine Smith, PhD, FAAN, selecting the awardees.

# Oncology Nurses Lead Collaboration Between Komen Foundation and University of Maryland School of Nursing

The University of Maryland School of Nursing has received the first year of funding, in the amount of \$200,000, on a three-year program to develop a comprehensive highereducation program for increasing awareness about the fight against breast cancer.

"The Komen Maryland (Komen MD) Affiliate Nursing Partnership: Advancing Education and Practice" is the first of its kind in the nation linking the Komen Foundation with a nursing school. The purpose of the program is to heighten the knowledge and skills of nursing faculty and students at all levels of the curriculum regarding the current state of the science in the prevention and detection of breast cancer and the treatment and care of people living with the disease.

The program is being led by three School of Nursing oncology faculty, all of whom are ONS members. Assistant Dean for Research

ONCOLOGY NURSING FORUM - VOL 33, NO 6, 2006

Digital Object Identifier: 10.1188/06.ONF.1055-1056